Daily Archives: March 17, 2009

I get ink

I went out to visit my good friends at Unique Ink today on my day off. The owner, Nick Christofano has already done the excellent black and grey rose on my left hand and ive been busting his balls to do a spider for my neck for months.

In 1985 I was a wee 15 year old punk rocker and had just begun stretching out into my own personality and music and one the main bibles for me in those days was a zine called Flipside. it was like Maximum Rock N Roll but more fun, less concerned  with who was a “poser” or not and besides, they were huge fans of my favorite punk bands of all time GBH, Circle Jerks, and the Ramones. I saw an interview with GBH and there was an amazing photo of their guitar player, Jock, with a black widow tattoo on his neck.

Jock these days

Jock these days

Now bear in mind that this was 19 fucking 85! No one had neck tattoos except for seriously heavy dudes and punks. It was the first time in my life that I looked at a tattoo and thought, “yea, Im gonna get me some of that!” Within weeks I had done my first hand poked tattoo and later my brother and I built a jailhouse rig tattoo machine and began marking up ourselves and friends.

Flash forward 25 or so years and After tattooing for the last 12 or so years I’m pretty sure that I’m not going to be a doctor or a lawyer. i already have my hands tattooed and when i began considering my neck there was only one choice for me. A black widow like Jocks.

So, Nick had some time and though i had no idea this morning when i woke up I would be getting my neck tattooed, i ended up with a killer fucking spider!

my-neck

The guys at Unique kept wanting me to add some background color, or yellow in the eyes and normally I’m all about making tattoos more and brighter, but this particular spider is the completion of a journey that started for me in 1985 and though I’m not at all that person anymore, i felt like I needed to keep it simple, clean, tough looking. . . .In short, punk.

Nick did an amazing job and i was surprised at how well i took it, one of the nice things about getting tattooed by your friends is that you know that you could whine and cry and take breaks and they would understand (cause they all have enough work to know that shit hurts) but at the same time you don’t want to do any of that because you want to make the job as easy for your friends as possible since you also know what a nightmare some customers can be. So I sucked it up, didn’t move or stop and actually didn’t find it all that bad at all, and believe me, I’m a pussy when i get tattooed!

my-neck-close

My sweetie, Cara, loves it and so do I. Hopefully I will be able to get the other side done before years end!

Thanks Nick!

Categories: Tattoo stuff | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

I think Dumb Stuff is funny pt.2

weaves

I saw this weave laying on the street the other day and the whole idea for this silly ad sprung right into my degenerate brain. Please, help us save the weaves.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.